Then she left…

27 Jun

They say it aint over til the fat lady sings. Hell. The fat lady not only sang, she turned around a took a bow. It wasn’t pretty for the record.

Look, all I can tell you is that one minute, I was sorta dancing in my seat the first night in Cabo and the next I told my husband of 23 years “I don’t want to be married anymore.”

Yes. That. Blunt.

Yes. That. Brutal.

Yes. It. Had. Been. Coming. For. Years.

The short story – because I really cannot get into any specific details right now – is that I.LOST.MYSELF.  Lost me in the coupledome. I was no longer identifying with the girl I used to be. My life became all about the couple. Decisions were made together. Everything was done together, from errands and shopping to deciding what to eat and what not to wear. He became the “other half” for real and I just couldn’t take it anymore.

So I did what any other smart, clever, brilliant and successful woman would do. I waited til the first night of our Cabo San Lucas vacation to announce my intention. Oh, did I mention this trip was to celebrate his birthday? Yeah, happy fucking birthday. The first day of vacation was on June 2, 2011. I moved out on June 15, 2011.

This isn’t a picnic. But thank god for big napkins.

10 Responses to “Then she left…”

  1. single mom June 27, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    I heart your effin guts out and you better let me know how I can help you. Ya, this was me. I got this, so hit me up. Sloppy smooches! Single Mom’s Dating Diary

  2. shoutabyss June 27, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    This may sound trite, but I know a bit how that feels. And I know how hard of a time that can be. The first day of a vacation is extreme, but it happens when it happens. In my case, one Friday night we had a quiet disagreement. Then we both knew. We looked at each other and said, “This is over, isn’t it.” It was. It had, indeed, been coming for some time. By the following Friday, a mere seven days, our divorce had been signed by a judge and I had the keys to my new apartment. It was quite a jolt to say the least.

    I wish you the best during this time!

  3. Jack Adams June 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Sorry to hear about this Pebbles.
    You know you’re loved without judgement. If you need anything, you know where to find us. Don’t be afraid to lean on your friends. The ones you know and the ones who know you.
    Best of luck.
    Jack

  4. Blogdramedy June 27, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    For me it was twenty years in, my daughter had just left to work in London for the summer and I had a new job my husband hated. After a week of me not being home for “dinner time” and listening to the reasons why the job wasn’t working for HIM I said this marriage wasn’t working for ME.

    Ten years later I work for myself, I have an amazing daughter and I married a man who cooks. It’s all good.

    You’re going to be fine.

  5. Modelj June 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Each day a little brighter. Hang in there tough little lady…

  6. Beckalina June 27, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    What is funny (or not so funny) about this is that my mom just kind of did the same thing to my step-dad about a month ago. Except she booked a ticket to England and then told him she was leaving the day of her flight. There must be something going around. 🙂

  7. HoaiPhai April 13, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    If only I had known… I would have drafted a not for you!

    • HoaiPhai April 13, 2012 at 1:20 am #

      Make that “I would have drafted a note for you”.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s kinda crazy… « Rinse and/or Repeat - March 25, 2012

    […] met the Rockstar until after I told my hubby I didn’t want to be married anymore. In case you forgot, or are a new […]

  2. It’s kinda crazy… « How Pandora lost hope - April 1, 2012

    […] never met the Rockstar until after I told my hubby I didn’t want to be married anymore. In case you forgot, or are a new […]

Leave a Reply

