Sounds like life…

1 Jul

The other night I was on the phone with a friend and there was a lull in the conversation. This is totally fine and somewhat cool that we can just sit on the phone not saying anything for a minute. During that lull however, I listened to things I hadn’t really heard before.

The whoosh of traffic. The high pitch of wind. The rustling of the leaves in the big oak tree outside my room. All common sounds of course, but it feels like the first time I stopped to listen and tune in.

All I could think of was how connected I felt to those noises. How this friend actually inspires me not to just listen, but to hear. To even go outside in the dark and feel the wind.

As I prepared to go to sleep that night, I felt connected to a place that is new to me. A new place that holds promise, adventure, inspiration, and special people. One that sounds like life.

4 Responses to “Sounds like life…”

  1. Brahm (alfred lives here) July 1, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    What a great post! I am just struggling to write about our recent move from the downtown to the burbs, and the newness of the greenery and trees and wind, and you nailed the feel of nature.

    I hate you. With affection and respect of course….

    • Lisa July 1, 2011 at 11:46 am #

      Laugh! Thanks so much for the hate/love thing. And am glad you are enjoying ‘hearing’ the life moving around you. Enjoy!

  2. Jack Adams July 1, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    But does it smell like teen spirit?

    • Lisa July 1, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      Yes actually it does! In a very good way. 😉

Leave a Reply

