The Big O…

29 Jul

Gee, what on earth could this post be about? Shopping at Overstock.com? Or maybe something a bit more risque and bawdy? For those of you that know me even a little I’m a dirty shoe whore with emphasis on the dirty part. So I cannot blame you for any mistaken conclusions on this post’s title.

But alas, this post is about finding an apartment. My place for the last 6 weeks has been temporary – and I’ve made arrangements to share a place with Tamara, a friend from high school who has been held captive in Chicago for IDK a couple decades?!

Tamara is a wild child. She’s gonna rip my inner freak apart fo sho. I can’t wait for her to get here and for us to slap some mayhem all over the Bay Area. And oddly, I’m kinda scared of the damage we’re gonna do.

And while Tam and I grew up in the burbs, and I’ve lived in posh-town for a long time, it’s time for me to abandon the safe and sleepy burbs for a more urban dwelling. But where? Hmmmm. Thinking. Thinking.

*Forehead smack* Of course!! Oakland. (Did your jaw just drop?)

It’s urban, I don’t have to cross any bridges to get to work, and it’s close to family. It’s the biggity fucking O is what it is, yo.

When I told my mother, she started doing research into statistics. Murder and rape statistics that is. SMH. She also said “isn’t that conveniently close to The Rockstar?” Okay, there is maybe just a hair of truth in that…

Yes, this is OAKLAND!So really why Oakland? I guess working in the biggity O for 14 years is one reason. Another is my need to push myself into giving something radically new a try. Going from a sprawling suburban custom home to living in the biggity O is well, pushing myself pretty far.

This weekend, I’ll be pounding the streets looking at not just places to live, but this time, really looking around. Eyes up and focused on what’s in front of me. For me, it’s gonna be an interesting test of what I think I can live with. Or without.

3 Responses to “The Big O…”

  1. shoutabyss July 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Disappointed! I thought this was going to be about a blood type. πŸ™‚

    Other than that, the post was pretty good. Good luck with your search!

  2. Blogdramedy July 30, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    Oakland is the home of Pandora Radio. I didn’t know you owned a radio station. πŸ˜‰ I’ll be sure to “tune” in to see how your house-hunting goes. As long as you’re not living inside a “box” I’ll be happy for you.

    Did you get the references here? Pandora? Box? I slay me. πŸ™‚

  3. Nicki August 8, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Wow. I can’t wait to see how this turns out. So excited for you. (And me…goodness knows this will lead to some awesome posts!)

Leave a comment