Setting up house…

27 Aug

It’s been a week since I moved into my new 1-bedroom condo. I’ve been super busy buying stuff. Which is fun, but also tedious. This new life is starting from scratch. Yes, I took some basic kitchen items from the house, but that’s pretty much it. I had the foresight to buy a bed and had it delivered on the first day I was here, but that’s about it.

So my week has been filled with tons of online shopping. Every decision I’ve made has been made alone and feels both exciting and scary. But as I press the “BUY IT” button, I’m filled with a sense of peace that each purchase puts me closer to independence and settling into this new life.

And every time the UPS guy knocks on my door, it’s like Christmas morning here. Rubbing my hands with glee, I tear into the boxes and look at all the new shiny objects I’ve bought.

Sticker shock...

But while I’m loving buying new stuff, I also hate it. You see, I gave myself a pretty low budget to set this place up. And every time I buy something it whittles away this seed money of mine. In the past, I didn’t give a rat’s ass how much money I was spending. I wanted something, I bought it. Now, I have to actually pay attention to things like comparison shopping and putting back something I want because I’m on a budget.

I DON’T WANT TO BE ON A BUDGET.

But alas, I am. Instead of buying my kitchen table at Ethan Allen, I bought it at a discount furniture place. The chair legs don’t feel that sturdy, but it’s within my budget. Instead of buying teak patio furniture, I bought aluminum zero gravity chairs, which actually are kinda comfy, but not what I’m used to.

I’m not complaining though. Here’s why: I am realizing that I don’t need the things I used to have. And while I might miss my Le Cruset pots, my food tastes just as good cooked in a cheap pot. And as I look around my mostly empty condo, I start to feel like I’m home.

Post Script: I did buy two new pairs of stilettos. Cuz after all, I’m a dirty shoe whore still.

3 Responses to “Setting up house…”

  1. Kim August 27, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    May your new home be filled with love and joy! It sounds exciting and scary. I know you will do great! Post a picture of the stilettos. It is amazing how a pair of shoes can bring such happiness!

  2. Nicki August 30, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    I went through the same thing in my divorce. I was so used to not having to think about money. We traveled all the time. I missed my spa days. Now I realize that a good day in that life still can’t compare to the life I have now. So very happy. So worth everything I gave up.

    PS. I aspire to being a shoe whore.

  3. hotshot bald cop September 1, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Good points

Leave a Reply

