Trying to forget…

11 Sep

On the anniversary of 9/11, while the rest of the country world is remembering the agony of the day, I am choosing to forget.

Not 9/11. Not the fear. But on a more personal level, I’m choosing to let things go. To move forward and life live now.

Reality has an uncanny way of reminding us how fragile we are, so dwelling on the events of a particular action from 10 years ago seems to me to be… well, a bit indulgent.

Now don’t go all getting your panties in a ruffle. I’m relating all of this to my own soul searching recently. I’ve done a pretty good job at NOT dwelling on events from the past – and thank gawd for that – because there are some things that are quite painful and for all of you in therapy, reliving them aint easy.

As I sit here on my patio, listening to Tubby Ted, my upstairs neighbor, cough up his lungs, the only thing I don’t think I’ll be forgetting anytime soon is him.

For the rest, I’ll recall those events and be thankful for all that I have today, and with eyes wide open, I’ll nudge those memories back into a corner. For a while. Because while those events shaped me, they also taught me valuable lessons. And they cannot be unlearned.

History happens every day. But life is short and we have only one of them. I choose to be happy so yes, recall the past as needed, but… Live. Life. Now.

One Response to “Trying to forget…”

  1. shoutabyss September 17, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    Sometimes the things I think about and the things I feel vary like biorhythms. There is a time for thinking about 9/11. Like they say, never forget. Sometimes my mood frames what I’m willing to think about. But remembering the gift of life and how it can be gone in an instant is important. I try to keep that in mind when I’m with my loved ones. I think, “This is the only time we’ll ever be here together in this moment.” Like you said, appreciate the moment and live now.

Leave a Reply

