Full of hope…

24 Feb

So the hubby and I are finally, after 8 months, splitting the expenses and some of the income. Yep, we’ve maintained joint checking, savings and credit cards, which was uber-fun during the holidays to see various expenditures he made for his girlfriend. You know, at places like Victoria’s Secret and Lingerie.com.

Of course, nothing could prepare me to actually seeing the lingerie in the flesh so to speak – my bad, I should never have gone into the spare bathroom that day.

Fade to black…

All the travel sized toiletries are kept in the spare bathroom. Since I started traveling again, I decided to raid the coffers at the house. As I enter the bathroom, the counter is littered with bags filled with all sorts of goodies, from lingerie, to cologne, to fur lined boots and jacket.

How do I know this you ask? I freaking peeked of course. I am after all, a GIRL. I really hope his girlfriend likes the lingerie and stuffz that I bought her.

So this had me step up and push a bit harder to separate our money – and this reminded me… WE HAD MONEY STUFFED INTO THE MATTRESS. Well, not the mattress, but hidden in the attic. Bingo!! Time to divvy the greenbacks.

At the same time, we both agreed, it’s time we used some of the Amex rewards points. Might as well 🙂

So the hubby decided to use some of his points on a fancy trip. But he needed more points than his portion provided. Aha! He asks me to sell him my points. Sure thing I told him, if he wants to give me some cash from his portion of the funds from the attic, I’m all in!

So last week, he came by with a wad of Franklin’s and I decide now is the time to get that new tattoo I said I’d get once things got stable post break-up.

Mine is prettier though 🙂

And I did! A 3″ Zibu Angelic symbol representing Hope.

You see, I am hopeful. And grateful too (but there was no symbol for gratitude or I would have done that.) The hubby and I are friends. We have laughed together and share a history and hopefully a future. Not as a couple, of course, but as good friends.

I have lots of hope. For health, wealth, happiness, friendship. Oh and for a pair of Louboutin’s and shiny hair. Because I am after all, a GIRL.

4 Responses to “Full of hope…”

  1. susielindau February 27, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    You are handling all of this with an amazing sense of humor! Wow! I am impressed.

    • Lisa February 27, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

      Thank you Susie! I’ll check out your blog too! Thanks for the support 🙂

  2. Blogdramedy March 5, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    Damn…you beat me to the tattoo. Glad to hear things are smoothing down some and I hope you do something smart with all that cash. Remember…first rule of budgeting…pay yourself first. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zibu Symbol of Friendship « The SubVocal - May 16, 2012

    […] Full of hope… (rinseorrepeat.wordpress.com) 0.000000 0.000000 Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under: Drawing and Stuff   |  Leave a Comment Tags: faith, fortune cookie, friendship, Religion and Spirituality, symbol, Tumblr, zibu […]

Leave a Reply

