All I need…

1 Aug

They say Sagittarians are brutally honest people. Hmmm hmmm. Well, I wasn’t so honest about sneaking Sparky into my condo on weekends. And for this, my sun sign got the best of me and forced me to man up, confess, and beg my landlord for mercy.

When I discussed the matter with Harold, my landlord, he completely understood my situation but reminded me that I chose to rent a place that didn’t allow pets. But he’d think about it.

He called me later and told me he’d allow me to have Sparky there on weekends provided I pay $1000 more in deposit and $150 per more in rent. I told him I’d have to rethink this a bit, I mean, seriously, $150 more per month for my little 8 pound yorkie?

Then he called again. Guess his lawyer (who calls a lawyer about stuff like this anyway?) said it would be a bad investment for him and that Harold should deny my request.

Here we go again. Gotta move. Again. So not looking forward to that – I have accumulated a lot of stuff since getting my own place. And with the packing and moving we did for the cabin in Mayย still fresh in my memory, I started thinking I’d have to consider not letting Sparky stay with me. Oh, not to mention breaking my lease would cost me a shit ton if we couldn’t sort this out.

Isn’t he the cutest motherflippin dog?

So I wrote a 5 page letter to Harold and his wife. Complete with my sob story and pictures of me with Sparky, and candids of Sparky lying in the sun and frollicking in the grass. And I reminded Harold that he asked me to rent that condo because he knows that I would keep it pristine. You know, it’s “the devil you know” angle.

It worked! He wrote back “Dear Sparky’s Mommy”, and agreed to let me have Sparky stay and even reduced the monthly rent add-on to just $50!

I’m glad I don’t have to repeat the whole moving experience. At least for now. And it turns out, which cracks me the fuck up, that Sparky, who whimpers to get me to help him up on the couch, can actually jump up on my bed when I’m not there.

That little stinker.

I heart this boy with all my love…

I’ll be picking him up for a long weekend with me tomorrow and whereas in the past, I’d worry about him when I’d leave him alone, this weekend, I’ll know he’s happy as a clam all burrowed in my pillows.

All I need right now is the warmth of his breath and the softness of his touch to make me smile.

11 Responses to “All I need…”

  1. bornattwentyfive August 1, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    That is awesome your landlord ended up being pretty cool about it! That was smart of you to write a letter! I’m a sagitarius as well

    • Lisa August 1, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      Badass chicks rule! I was so scared every time I’d take him outside – my landlord’s daughter lives in my development!! *wiping brow*

  2. Socialkenny August 1, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I’d say get rid of Sparky ass.

    Sounds harsh but in the world today,can’t afford to have pets dictate what goes on in your life.

    Having to move again just sounds gruesome.

    • Lisa August 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      Let me guess, you’re a cat person? LOL.

      The problem with us dog people is that we think they’re our kids. Very hard to shake that shit.

      Moving just sucks. I hope I don’t have to do it again anytime soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Socialkenny August 1, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

        Lol correct!Didn’t know I had such a tell(of being a cat person).

        Well,I guess that’s the way it is.I hate dogs though.

        So what are the options for you?You might end up having to pay extra?

      • Lisa August 1, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

        I do – extra deposit and extra rent. But that’s okay because my little doodlebug is worth it.

        Now go clean the kitty litter box. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Socialkenny August 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Kitty litter already spotless thanks.

    Maybe you can bring your down on over to play with the pussy.

  4. Emily August 1, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Yea for keeping Sparky! He’s stinkin adorbs and I’m happy it all worked out!

    • Lisa August 1, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Thanks Emily – I wubba my pup-pup ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Kimberly August 2, 2012 at 3:32 am #

    I am so glad Sparky can stay!

  6. Blogdramedy August 2, 2012 at 5:18 am #

    Gives “put it in writing” a whole other meaning! Congrats. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

